THE PASSIONATE LETTER OF NAPOLÉON TO HIS WIFE JOSÉPHINE

Love Letter from Napoléon to his wife Joséphine, 30th of March 1796

I have not spent a day without loving you; I have not spent a night without embracing you; I have not so much as drunk a single cup of tea without cursing the pride and ambition which force me to remain separated from the moving spirit of my life. In the midst of my duties, whether I am at the head of my army or inspecting the camps, my beloved Josephine stands alone in my heart, occupies my mind, fills my thoughts. If I am moving away from you with the speed of the Rhone torrent, it is only that I may see you again more quickly. If I rise to work in the middle of the night, it is because this may hasten by a matter of days the arrival of my sweet love. (…)

My spirit is heavy; my heart is fettered and I am terrified by my fantasies… You love me less; but you will get over the loss. One day you will love me no longer; at least tell me; then I shall know how I have come to deserve this misfortune. …Farewell, my wife: the torment, joy, hope and moving which draw me close to Nature, and with violent impulses as tumultuous as thunder. I ask of you neither eternal love, nor fidelity, but simply…truth, unlimited honesty. The day when you say “I love you less”, will mark the end of my love and the last day of my life. If my heart were base enough to love without being loved in return I would tear it to pieces.

Josephine! Josephine! Remember what I have sometimes said to you: Nature has endowed me with a virile and decisive character. It has built yours out of lace and gossamer. Have you ceased to love me? Forgive me, love of my life, my soul is racked by conflicting forces. My heart obsessed by you, is full of fears which prostrate me with misery…I am distressed not to be calling you by name. I shall wait for you to write it. Farewell! Ah! if you love me less you can never have loved me. In that case I shall truly be pitiable.

Bonaparte, 30th of March 1796

(Original version in French below)

 

 

Lettre d’amour de Napoléon à Joséphine, 30 Mars 1796

Je n’ai pas passé un jour sans t’aimer ; je n’ai pas passé une nuit sans te serrer dans mes bras ; je n’ai pas pris une tasse de thé sans maudire la gloire et l’ambition qui me tiennent éloigné de l’âme de ma vie. Au milieu des affaires, à la tête des troupes, en parcourant les camps, mon adorable Joséphine est seule dans mon coeur, occupe mon esprit, absorbe ma pensée. Si je m’éloigne de toi avec la vitesse du torrent du Rhône, c’est pour te revoir plus vite. Si, au milieu de la nuit, je me lève pour travailler, c’est que cela peut avancer de quelques jours l’arrivée de ma douce amie (…)

Mon âme est triste ; mon coeur est esclave, et mon imagination m’effraie… Tu m’aimes moins ; tu seras consolée. Un jour, tu ne m’aimeras plus ; dis-le-moi ; je saurai au moins mériter le malheur… Adieu, femme, tourment, bonheur, espérance et âme de ma vie, que j’aime, que je crains, qui m’inspire des sentiments tendres qui m’appellent à la Nature, et des mouvements impétueux aussi volcaniques que le tonnerre. Je ne te demande ni amour éternel, ni fidélité, mais seulement… vérité, franchise sans bornes. Le jour où tu diras « je t’aime moins » sera le dernier de ma vie. Si mon coeur était assez vil pour aimer sans retour, je le hacherais avec les dents.

Joséphine, Joséphine ! Souviens-toi de ce que je t’ai dit quelquefois : la nature m’a fait l’âme forte et décidée. Elle t’a bâtie de dentelle et de gaze. As-tu cessé de m’aimer ? Pardon, âme de ma vie, mon âme est tendue sur de vastes combinaisons. Mon coeur, entièrement occupé par toi, a des craintes qui me rendent malheureux… Je suis ennuyé de ne pas t’appeler par ton nom. J’attends que tu me l’écrives. Adieu ! Ah ! Si tu m’aimes moins, tu ne m’auras jamais aimé. Je serai alors bien à plaindre.

Napoléon, 30 mars 1796

Leave a comment